Author Topic: Fortune Street: Custom Boards  (Read 36452 times)

Offline NintendoFan

  • -
  • Posts: 574
  • *
  • us 
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #15 on: November 06, 2015 »
I don't remember, but I've implemented a "special fix" for the venture and boon squares. When I have free time, we'll see if it worked.
Ancient trash.
Spoiler: Smash 4 license (click to show/hide)

Offline Yoshiman222

  • Now a Yoshi-Tactician. :P
  • Dat sanwich tho...
  • Posts: 3,078
  • *
  • *
  • ca 
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #16 on: November 06, 2015 »
So I've finally gotten the board to load.

And it crashes when I roll. I'm very sure you did something wrong here...
What number was it? Because in my game it's whenever a 3 is rolled that causes the glitch - and that's it. That is the issue I get.

I don't have the map or the Wii set up for it, but perchance there's a section where someone can loop on themselves with a 3?
Well I meant on the very first roll...

Offline NintendoFan

  • -
  • Posts: 574
  • *
  • us 
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #17 on: November 06, 2015 »
Unfortunately, my fix didn't work. I suggest you remake the entire board from scratch(and make it from a different board, not Bowser's Castle) or create a new one.
Ancient trash.
Spoiler: Smash 4 license (click to show/hide)

Offline Yoshiman222

  • Now a Yoshi-Tactician. :P
  • Dat sanwich tho...
  • Posts: 3,078
  • *
  • *
  • ca 
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #18 on: November 06, 2015 »
Unfortunately, my fix didn't work. I suggest you remake the entire board from scratch(and make it from a different board, not Bowser's Castle) or create a new one.
I have to use Bowser's Castle though for the doors. Also you haven't told me what initial roll(s) causes the game to crash, because I can play the game just fine so long as the initial roll isn't 3.

Offline NintendoFan

  • -
  • Posts: 574
  • *
  • us 
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #19 on: November 06, 2015 »
Unfortunately, my fix didn't work. I suggest you remake the entire board from scratch(and make it from a different board, not Bowser's Castle) or create a new one.
I have to use Bowser's Castle though for the doors. Also you haven't told me what initial roll(s) causes the game to crash, because I can play the game just fine so long as the initial roll isn't 3.
The game crashes whenever the computers or I roll a number that can land on a venture.(example being rolling a 3 when the game starts) Also, when I first played your board, I got 3 8's in a row... Do you think that's a problem? :P
Ancient trash.
Spoiler: Smash 4 license (click to show/hide)

Offline Yoshiman222

  • Now a Yoshi-Tactician. :P
  • Dat sanwich tho...
  • Posts: 3,078
  • *
  • *
  • ca 
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #20 on: November 06, 2015 »
Unfortunately, my fix didn't work. I suggest you remake the entire board from scratch(and make it from a different board, not Bowser's Castle) or create a new one.
I have to use Bowser's Castle though for the doors. Also you haven't told me what initial roll(s) causes the game to crash, because I can play the game just fine so long as the initial roll isn't 3.
The game crashes whenever the computers or I roll a number that can land on a venture.(example being rolling a 3 when the game starts) Also, when I first played your board, I got 3 8's in a row... Do you think that's a problem? :P
I said it's the ventures that were a problem in the first place. Guess I should remove them huh?

Offline NintendoFan

  • -
  • Posts: 574
  • *
  • us 
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #21 on: November 06, 2015 »
Unfortunately, my fix didn't work. I suggest you remake the entire board from scratch(and make it from a different board, not Bowser's Castle) or create a new one.
I have to use Bowser's Castle though for the doors. Also you haven't told me what initial roll(s) causes the game to crash, because I can play the game just fine so long as the initial roll isn't 3.
The game crashes whenever the computers or I roll a number that can land on a venture.(example being rolling a 3 when the game starts) Also, when I first played your board, I got 3 8's in a row... Do you think that's a problem? :P
I said it's the ventures that were a problem in the first place. Guess I should remove them huh?

I know that they were a problem; but I tried to fix it but it didn't work(see above).
Ancient trash.
Spoiler: Smash 4 license (click to show/hide)

Offline Yoshiman222

  • Now a Yoshi-Tactician. :P
  • Dat sanwich tho...
  • Posts: 3,078
  • *
  • *
  • ca 
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #22 on: November 06, 2015 »
Unfortunately, my fix didn't work. I suggest you remake the entire board from scratch(and make it from a different board, not Bowser's Castle) or create a new one.
I have to use Bowser's Castle though for the doors. Also you haven't told me what initial roll(s) causes the game to crash, because I can play the game just fine so long as the initial roll isn't 3.
The game crashes whenever the computers or I roll a number that can land on a venture.(example being rolling a 3 when the game starts) Also, when I first played your board, I got 3 8's in a row... Do you think that's a problem? :P
I said it's the ventures that were a problem in the first place. Guess I should remove them huh?

I know that they were a problem; but I tried to fix it but it didn't work(see above).
Yeah I know, and that's my problem. And I'm assuming it's because they won't work in that environment.

Hmm... how about this then? I basically just removed the venture spaces for 2 others. What do you think...?

Offline NintendoFan

  • -
  • Posts: 574
  • *
  • us 
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #23 on: November 07, 2015 »
Rolling a three at the start still crashes the game. I'm sorry, but I have no idea how to fix this, if replacing the venture spaces did not work. I suggest you try to make a different board that's less... complex than this one.
Ancient trash.
Spoiler: Smash 4 license (click to show/hide)

Offline smokybacon

  • Posts: 8
  • *
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #24 on: November 30, 2015 »
Hi Guys,

just saw this thread by coincidence.
I have made a few custom boards by myself.
They work just fine without crashing.

I wanted to build bigger, better and more complex and often hit the boundaries of the game. So through trial and error I can now tell you some things about customising fortune street boards. It is 2am in Germany and my textfiles are on my laptop, but I can put the info online within the next days if someone is interested.

I made a board called the "Vegas invader" which my friends and me are playing constantly. I also succeeded in building a board that was not "meant to be" by the game. It is a spiral. You start from almost the outer end and walk to the middle. Since I am typing on my smartphone, it would be to much to describe. But it is not just a boring walk to the middle, it has a system of pipes that can allow you to skip big parts of the board and get a level up pretty quick. The stores get more and more expensive on your way to the middle. Buying price for the most expensive one is 7500, so it can be bought only later in the game. The pipes mentioned before can help you skip the horribly expensive center of the spiral - or put you right there. When you reach the middle, you find a door that brings you the outermost part of the spiral and you can walk over some fortune and game   tiles. Since this board can take on a pretty rough dynamic and drastic changes we call it (translated from German) "The spiral of violence". I can post a Screenshot and would like to hear what you think about it.

For starters in customising this game: watch the YouTube videos of "abdallah" about customising fortune street. It is a good start.
And don't go to big, the game has limitations. They seem to vary on how many possible paths you have but they are still pretty close together. If I remember correctly you should not exceed around 75 tiles. And don't make district's with less than 3 shops or more than... uh... 6 I think. I will look it up. Most reasons for freezing can be avoided if you follow a few simple rules and do a little thinking (I once had a board where the fortune card set has a "teleport to circus or to sleep" card. It hit sleep... but I had no tile for that and it froze)
One more tip: if you finally have the impression that your board is debugged, start a computer match with high target amount and let the bots to the rest. If you wake up the next morning and you are seeing the ending screen, everything is fine. If not, you will see exactly what was happening when it froze. By doing so I pushed the boundaries to the maximum. Made a big cloud-like board with a 9 field "sun". You can only get to the sun by fortune card or balloon and you can get back by hitting a canon.  The sun itself has fortune fields, circuses... ^^

Hope I could be of some help.

Offline smokybacon

  • Posts: 8
  • *
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #25 on: November 30, 2015 »
Unfortunately, my fix didn't work. I suggest you remake the entire board from scratch(and make it from a different board, not Bowser's Castle) or create a new one.

Crashing at the start can be caused by many different things first of all, you should check all your entry and exit IDs. Autopathing is a fine tool but it connects every possible way and this is a big problem at every T intersection and every corner. Since you would walk around a corner by walking the path 1 2 3, autopath allows the way 1 3 since these tiles are usually touching.

Offline NintendoFan

  • -
  • Posts: 574
  • *
  • us 
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #26 on: November 30, 2015 »
Unfortunately, my fix didn't work. I suggest you remake the entire board from scratch(and make it from a different board, not Bowser's Castle) or create a new one.

Crashing at the start can be caused by many different things first of all, you should check all your entry and exit IDs. Autopathing is a fine tool but it connects every possible way and this is a big problem at every T intersection and every corner. Since you would walk around a corner by walking the path 1 2 3, autopath allows the way 1 3 since these tiles are usually touching.

Yeah idk why you're quoting me here when Yoshiman222 made the board, not me

Edit: would also be pretty nice to see some of your boards  :)
« Last Edit: November 30, 2015 by NintendoFan »
Ancient trash.
Spoiler: Smash 4 license (click to show/hide)

Offline smokybacon

  • Posts: 8
  • *
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #27 on: December 01, 2015 »
Hi, I am sorry, this was unintentionally. I dont use boards very often and I was typing on my mobile...
;)

Offline Yoshiman222

  • Now a Yoshi-Tactician. :P
  • Dat sanwich tho...
  • Posts: 3,078
  • *
  • *
  • ca 
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #28 on: December 01, 2015 »
Unfortunately, my fix didn't work. I suggest you remake the entire board from scratch(and make it from a different board, not Bowser's Castle) or create a new one.

Crashing at the start can be caused by many different things first of all, you should check all your entry and exit IDs. Autopathing is a fine tool but it connects every possible way and this is a big problem at every T intersection and every corner. Since you would walk around a corner by walking the path 1 2 3, autopath allows the way 1 3 since these tiles are usually touching.

Yeah idk why you're quoting me here when Yoshiman222 made the board, not me

Edit: would also be pretty nice to see some of your boards  :)
Hey, mah board is an awesome board.

...it just has a bug that I just can't seem to fix for some reason. :P

Also the paths work perfectly fine, it's just the rolls that don't seem to work. It's when you roll a 3 from start that it crashes.
Starting to think I have to put the exit door by the bank now sadly...

Offline smokybacon

  • Posts: 8
  • *
Re: Fortune Street: Custom Boards
« Reply #29 on: December 01, 2015 »
Unfortunately, my fix didn't work. I suggest you remake the entire board from scratch(and make it from a different board, not Bowser's Castle) or create a new one.

Crashing at the start can be caused by many different things first of all, you should check all your entry and exit IDs. Autopathing is a fine tool but it connects every possible way and this is a big problem at every T intersection and every corner. Since you would walk around a corner by walking the path 1 2 3, autopath allows the way 1 3 since these tiles are usually touching.

Yeah idk why you're quoting me here when Yoshiman222 made the board, not me

Edit: would also be pretty nice to see some of your boards  :)
Hey, mah board is an awesome board.

...it just has a bug that I just can't seem to fix for some reason. :P

Also the paths work perfectly fine, it's just the rolls that don't seem to work. It's when you roll a 3 from start that it crashes.
Starting to think I have to put the exit door by the bank now sadly...

May I see a picture of your board?
Working with doors can cause a lot of problems...