Mario Party Legacy Forum

Mario Party Legacy Forum => Forum Archive => PartyPlanner64 => Topic started by: SuperZambezi on October 19, 2016, 11:08:35 PM

Title: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: SuperZambezi on October 19, 2016, 11:08:35 PM
PartyPlanner64 is still in its beta, so expect to run into different problems. You can find a List of Issues and Bugs here (https://github.com/PartyPlanner64/PartyPlanner64/issues). If you found something that isn't already on the list, PLEASE post it here! In order to improve PP64, we're going to have to report everything!

Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Kirafrog on October 21, 2016, 09:20:21 PM
One thing i found out messing with the planner is that it wont overwrite a board on the rom when useing firefox and some other things dont show up.
For example on chrome befor you try to overwite a board it tells you what the problems are; like if you need more shops or there isnt enough star spaces.
On firefox it doesnt tell you what is wrong and tries to overwrite it regardless but never does, it just stays on the saveing party planner logo.
I dont think this is a big problem, i just mainly use firefox but i can easly swith over to chrome.
Unsure if you guys knew this but just letting you know!
Also a undo button would be nice if thats possible.
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: PartyPlanner64 on October 24, 2016, 08:49:12 AM
I actually develop mostly with Firefox, so it typically works in Firefox. Be sure that you didn't check the "Skip Overwrite Validation" advanced setting in that browser.

For anyone who does see it hang like that, try opening the browser dev tools (F12 usually) and see if there is any error in the console. It would be helpful to include as much as you can about what it says about the error (message, stack trace if present, file and line number).

And in general if there are any boards that cause issues, it would help to send me the board file ("Export board" option).
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Yoshiman222 on October 26, 2016, 03:54:18 PM
I know you said you fixed reverse movement in MP3, but it crashed when I made a pathway not long ago and a CPU went into it in reverse. I also went into it but a different way so that it only provided me with 2 options, the path I came from and forwards the opposite direction, however, after choosing to go backwards, I was presented with another choice of options, one where I could go backwards in the other direction and the direction I originally came from. (To explain how the path works, 2 chains lead into it while 2 lead out from it).
The movement was also caused by Bowser's Reverse curse too if that means anything. Also I believe the CPU could make it to start if that also means anything though I doubt it since start normally starts off outside the board regardless right?
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Spongyoshi on November 06, 2016, 05:30:16 PM
I can't remplace anything or when I do, it doesn't seems to work.
Also, when I download a room, it crashes on Project 64  :(
EDIT: Got it work! Be sure to use Project64 2.3 on 8Mo of memory.
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: yugitom on November 07, 2016, 06:56:21 PM
Whenever I use the Overwrite tool in both Chrome and Firefox, I get about 1 sec of a loading screen and nothing seems to happen. I don't suppose anyone else has encountered this?
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: PartyPlanner64 on November 07, 2016, 07:52:18 PM
Whenever I use the Overwrite tool in both Chrome and Firefox, I get about 1 sec of a loading screen and nothing seems to happen. I don't suppose anyone else has encountered this?

As long as it doesn't hang, that is how it should work. Then you can Save ROM and it will give you a ROM that has been overwritten with the board.

It is a good idea to have some sort of confirmation that the overwrite worked though.
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: yugitom on November 08, 2016, 10:54:09 AM
Whenever I use the Overwrite tool in both Chrome and Firefox, I get about 1 sec of a loading screen and nothing seems to happen. I don't suppose anyone else has encountered this?

As long as it doesn't hang, that is how it should work. Then you can Save ROM and it will give you a ROM that has been overwritten with the board.

It is a good idea to have some sort of confirmation that the overwrite worked though.
I probably should've elaborated more on my experience. I did try to get the ROM, anyway, but it just black screen'd. I had no issues with my level (at least no issues that the Overwrite tool informs you of), so I'm not sure why it happened.
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: NintendoFan on November 08, 2016, 11:04:38 AM
Did you set the memory size to 8 MB?
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: yugitom on November 08, 2016, 12:40:52 PM
I'm not sure how to :P Sorry for being rather noob-ish
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: NintendoFan on November 08, 2016, 12:49:44 PM
If you're using Project64 to emulate the game, you need to set the ROM directory to where your custom rom is, right click it and go to "Edit game settings" (ignore it if it says it's a bad rom), and then set memory size to 8 MB.

Or did you mean something else when you said "black screen'd?" Looking back, I'm not sure anymore. :P
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: yugitom on November 08, 2016, 12:57:49 PM
If you're using Project64 to emulate the game, you need to set the ROM directory to where your custom rom is, right click it and go to "Edit game settings" (ignore it if it says it's a bad rom), and then set memory size to 8 MB.
I didn't even have that option in the first place. For some reason, in 2.3, advanced options are automatically hidden, so I had to uncheck that box :/ So, it's working now

Thanks for the help, anyway :)
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Wingcapman on November 09, 2016, 05:29:28 PM
I don't think this is a bug or something, but I'm really curious about it.
So if you make your own board with 7 different star locations for DK's Jungle Adventure, the star location leaves an !-space if it moves to a different location. Why is this?? I tried the actual star space with a host and a blue space with a host as a try-out for example, and once the star leaves from these spaces, it leaves an !-space. I find that pretty weird. :P
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Vipsoccermaster on November 09, 2016, 06:25:18 PM
I don't think this is a bug or something, but I'm really curious about it.
So if you make your own board with 7 different star locations for DK's Jungle Adventure, the star location leaves an !-space if it moves to a different location. Why is this?? I tried the actual star space with a host and a blue space with a host as a try-out for example, and once the star leaves from these spaces, it leaves an !-space. I find that pretty weird. :P
In the actual game, that's what Stars/Chance Time Spaces are programmed to do. For boards where the star moves, the Star Space leaves a Chance Time Space, which a board can have up to seven of. I believe that's what PartyPlanner64 intended to do.
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Wingcapman on November 09, 2016, 06:41:27 PM
... Huh, odd... I guess I never realized that. xD
Okay moving on then... :D
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Mario_Comix on November 10, 2016, 09:29:33 PM
Alright, here's my issue. Let me begin...

I'm currently using Project 64 to emulate MP2, which opens its .n64 file fine. Is Project 64 a good emulator for the custom boards though? Because when I use it to open a .z64 file (which is what Party Planner saves its ROMs as, after overwriting with a custom board), it doesn't work. Any suggestions for solutions?

Also, when I reopen these .z64 files in Party Planner, all the MP2 boards are re-listed as being for MP1, even though they have the right spaces. What's the work-around for that?
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: NintendoFan on November 10, 2016, 10:01:38 PM
You just need to find an original MP2 rom in the .z64 file format. I can't link it here, because, well, piracy issues. You should be able to find one via some google searching.

You should also be sure that the default memory size is set to 8 MB, otherwise the game won't run either way.
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: PartyPlanner64 on November 11, 2016, 09:36:25 PM
It may be the case that an emulator cannot handle .z64 format (which is the real deal format IMO) but PP64 was written to be able to read .n64 and other endian varieties, although I haven't tested it much.

Quote
all the MP2 boards are re-listed as being for MP1, even though they have the right spaces.

I wasn't sure what this meant, which part of the editor is listing something wrong?
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Spongyoshi on November 12, 2016, 09:21:10 AM
Here are two errors I noticed by now.
- In Mario Party 2, there's a lava-based minigame (dunno which one) that usually crash the game.
- In Mario Party 3, when the AI goes on a intersection point, the game have a chance of crashing.
Except that, it's pretty good  ;D (Besides the AI sucks but that can hardly be helped..)
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Mario_Comix on November 12, 2016, 04:26:02 PM
It may be the case that an emulator cannot handle .z64 format (which is the real deal format IMO) but PP64 was written to be able to read .n64 and other endian varieties, although I haven't tested it much.

Quote
all the MP2 boards are re-listed as being for MP1, even though they have the right spaces.

I wasn't sure what this meant, which part of the editor is listing something wrong?

I can't quite replicate what happened, but when I clicked the "Overwrite" button, and those little ! icons pop up to say what's wrong with the board, there would be a red ! saying it's a board for MP1, despite the MP2 ROM, as well as the board actually being in MP2. But I can't seem to replicate it anymore.
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: RandomPG on November 14, 2016, 03:12:34 PM
On two different custom boards in MP3, I've had the game freeze partway through a game after rolling the die. If it matters, I was controlling all four players with one controller.
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: MG03 on November 14, 2016, 06:40:28 PM
Just some problems I've run into, all of these have been on netplay with mupen64++, some of these have been noted before:
-In MP2 the game will freeze on a black screen right before Hexagon Heat and Tipsy Tourney, haven't had any problems with any other games
-In MP3 the CPUs will get stuck at branching paths and not do anything
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: bluesun on November 15, 2016, 12:30:19 AM
MP2 (Mupen64++): Hexagon Heat, Tipsy Tourney. Bowser Bomb or Bowser's Appearing Act (After Bowser rolled three dice)
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: PartyPlanner64 on November 15, 2016, 08:54:52 PM
Just some problems I've run into, all of these have been on netplay with mupen64++, some of these have been noted before:
-In MP2 the game will freeze on a black screen right before Hexagon Heat and Tipsy Tourney, haven't had any problems with any other games
-In MP3 the CPUs will get stuck at branching paths and not do anything

The MP3 computer players should no longer get stuck with tonight's changes.

I also believe I have fixed at least one of the MP2 mini-game crashes, although I have not verified it myself.

Bowser Bomb or Bowser's Appearing Act (After Bowser rolled three dice)

I had not heard about this before, I will try to look into it. The fix may be similar to what I did for MP3 to fix some items.
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Spinda on November 16, 2016, 01:12:27 PM
So to get used to the program I decided to start off by making an injokey MP2 map (so dont mind the general badness) and everything works except when I overwrite a map it goes from looking like this

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

to looking like this

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

DL Link of the original map (https://www.dropbox.com/s/m30f0e8wrc1ti9m/Sanctuary%20Fortress%20II.json?dl=1)
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: PartyPlanner64 on November 16, 2016, 05:21:08 PM
So to get used to the program I decided to start off by making an injokey MP2 map (so dont mind the general badness) and everything works except when I overwrite a map it goes from looking like this

The issue that is mostly tracking this is here:
https://github.com/PartyPlanner64/PartyPlanner64/issues/20

But how the editor parses boards that have already been written is overall a lower concern, because what really matters is how the game actually plays.

The space alignment issue in-game is probably the most annoying bug right now, and the one I want fixed the most, but it's a huge bore just to think about it. It's really daunting to try to solve it in a reasonable way, and very time consuming to solve in a bruteforce way.
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Dark Boo on November 17, 2016, 09:34:29 AM
So to get used to the program I decided to start off by making an injokey MP2 map (so dont mind the general badness) and everything works except when I overwrite a map it goes from looking like this

The issue that is mostly tracking this is here:
https://github.com/PartyPlanner64/PartyPlanner64/issues/20 (https://github.com/PartyPlanner64/PartyPlanner64/issues/20)

But how the editor parses boards that have already been written is overall a lower concern, because what really matters is how the game actually plays.

The space alignment issue in-game is probably the most annoying bug right now, and the one I want fixed the most, but it's a huge bore just to think about it. It's really daunting to try to solve it in a reasonable way, and very time consuming to solve in a bruteforce way.

Is there a set formula for going from XY to XYZ plane?


EDIT:
Viewing your code

EDIT X2:
Can you explain the significance of these values:
0.13 (Setting the newX variable)
0.90 (Setting the newY variable)
(And the condition where if the newY variable is greater than half the height (On the higher half-plane)

Code: [Select]
onGetBoardCoordsFromGameCoords(x, y, z, width, height, boardIndex) {
      // The following is a bunch of crappy approximations.
      let newX, newY, newZ;
      switch (boardIndex) {
        case 0: // DK's Jungle Adventure
          newX = (width / 2) + (x * (1 + (y * 0.13 / (height / 2))))
               + 30 * (x / (width / 2));
          newY = (height / 2) + ((y + 0) * 0.90);
          if (newY < (height / 2))
            newY += Math.abs(y) / 10;
          else
            newY += Math.abs(y) / 40;
          newZ = 0;
          break;
        case 1: // Peach's Birthday Cake
        case 2: // Yoshi's Tropical Island
        case 3: // Wario's Battle Canyon
        case 4: // Luigi's Engine Room
        case 5: // Mario's Rainbow Castle
        case 6: // Bowser's Magma Mountain
        case 7: // Eternal Star
        case 8: // Training
        case 9: // Mini-Game Stadium
        case 10: // Mini-Game Island
          newX = (width / 2) + x;
          newY = (height / 2) + y;
          newZ = 0;
          break;
        default:
          throw "onGetBoardCoordsFromGameCoords called with bad boardIndex";
}

I would like to know how you got those approximations because they seem to work for the interior of the boards but for the exterior, they become WAY off...

EDIT X3:
I probably know this, but onGetBoardCoordsFromGameCoords and onGetGameCoordsFromBoardCoords are simply inverse functions, correct? And boardCoords from gameCoords is getting the coordinates from the actual game where gameCoords from boardCoords get the coordinates from the editor board?
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: PartyPlanner64 on November 17, 2016, 07:16:59 PM
Can you explain the significance of these values:
0.13 (Setting the newX variable)
0.90 (Setting the newY variable)
(And the condition where if the newY variable is greater than half the height (On the higher half-plane)

I would like to know how you got those approximations because they seem to work for the interior of the boards but for the exterior, they become WAY off...

I probably know this, but onGetBoardCoordsFromGameCoords and onGetGameCoordsFromBoardCoords are simply inverse functions, correct? And boardCoords from gameCoords is getting the coordinates from the actual game where gameCoords from boardCoords get the coordinates from the editor board?

There really is no rhyme or reason to any of the numbers in those functions.

The minimum conversion required is the following, which is needed because the coordinates are stored differently in the game vs in the editor. In the game, X and Y are zero at the center of the board, and they grow outward. I wanted the editor to start X and Y at 0 in the upper left corner. So that's what I use right now for every board but DK right now for example.

Code: [Select]
newX = (width / 2) + x;
newY = (height / 2) + y;
newZ = 0;

From there I just kept messing with it until it reached what it is today :o. I would tweak it and reload the ROM and see how close it made the spaces line up with an image of the board (http://www.vgmaps.com/Atlas/N64/MarioParty-DK'sJungleAdventure(Unmarked).png).

The overall idea is that X needs to shrink inwards at the top and expand outwards at the bottom. Y probably has some scaling involved. I'm sure there is some sort of mathematical thing that could help, like a transformation matrix (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transformation_matrix) or some perspective math. The truth of it lies in the ROM somewhere.

You're correct that the one should be an inverse of the other, one for parsing and one for overwriting. They are probably not true inverses. I just ran them through Wolfram Alpha when I was done.
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Dark Boo on November 17, 2016, 10:38:12 PM
Can you explain the significance of these values:
0.13 (Setting the newX variable)
0.90 (Setting the newY variable)
(And the condition where if the newY variable is greater than half the height (On the higher half-plane)

I would like to know how you got those approximations because they seem to work for the interior of the boards but for the exterior, they become WAY off...

I probably know this, but onGetBoardCoordsFromGameCoords and onGetGameCoordsFromBoardCoords are simply inverse functions, correct? And boardCoords from gameCoords is getting the coordinates from the actual game where gameCoords from boardCoords get the coordinates from the editor board?

There really is no rhyme or reason to any of the numbers in those functions.

The minimum conversion required is the following, which is needed because the coordinates are stored differently in the game vs in the editor. In the game, X and Y are zero at the center of the board, and they grow outward. I wanted the editor to start X and Y at 0 in the upper left corner. So that's what I use right now for every board but DK right now for example.

Code: [Select]
newX = (width / 2) + x;
newY = (height / 2) + y;
newZ = 0;

From there I just kept messing with it until it reached what it is today :o . I would tweak it and reload the ROM and see how close it made the spaces line up with an image of the board (http://www.vgmaps.com/Atlas/N64/MarioParty-DK'sJungleAdventure(Unmarked).png).

The overall idea is that X needs to shrink inwards at the top and expand outwards at the bottom. Y probably has some scaling involved. I'm sure there is some sort of mathematical thing that could help, like a transformation matrix (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transformation_matrix) or some perspective math. The truth of it lies in the ROM somewhere.

You're correct that the one should be an inverse of the other, one for parsing and one for overwriting. They are probably not true inverses. I just ran them through Wolfram Alpha when I was done.

Would you mind if I take a look at this please? I will TRY to see the kinks of it (Hopefully whenever I have free time MINUS work)...
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: PartyPlanner64 on November 18, 2016, 06:00:12 PM
Would you mind if I take a look at this please? I will TRY to see the kinks of it (Hopefully whenever I have free time MINUS work)...

Please do!

While I think it would be best to try and get everything set up like the Github README suggests, you could also patch the function live in the browser to see changes.

Pressing F12, you could paste this in the console for example, and all boards, even DK, would parse without perspective changes. It will wear off when refreshing the page, but you can also just keep changing it and close/open ROM to see the effects.

Code: [Select]
PP64.adapters.MP1.onGetBoardCoordsFromGameCoords = function(x, y, z, width, height, boardIndex) {
  let newX, newY, newZ;
  newX = (width / 2) + x;
  newY = (height / 2) + y;
  newZ = 0;
  return [Math.round(newX), Math.round(newY), Math.round(newZ)];
};
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Spongyoshi on November 28, 2016, 01:50:12 PM
By the way, saves are so weird in Mario Party 3 that you restart in the same spot where you quit the game.
You actually can save in mid-turn and that's so weird!
I restarted because I picked the wrong way for exemple and restarted at the split and got thrown back to the beginning of the board  :o
That is such an odd glitch!!
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: teconmoon on November 29, 2016, 10:51:26 AM
First post here, thanks for working on PartyPlanner64! I'm having a great time learning how to design boards and etc. Quick side-note which is probably something I'm doing wrong, the roms produced with PartyPlanner64 work fine in Mupen64Plus, but not the latest version of Project 64. Any ideas? Thanks!

Edit: I should have read the Readme which stated the memory needed to be set to 8 mb :p
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: polyhex on December 28, 2016, 11:15:44 PM
My map freezes the game after the logos appear. If the patch that skips the intro is added, it freezes when the 4th player is selected in the pipe.

Here's the map (https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/37081089/Ducko%20Land%20%281%29.json), does anyone know what's wrong? It's for Mario Party 2.
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Rocky on January 10, 2017, 03:21:55 PM
My Mario Party 2 Banjo Kazooie map is still crashing everytime it loads up the Tipsy Tourney mini-game. It's happening on hardware and emulator.  :-\
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: MisterThias64 on March 01, 2017, 07:40:29 PM
I'm actually having a similar issue as some of the folks above with both Mario Party 2 and 3 running on an actual N64 (Everdrive). On occasion the game will lock up randomly during play (usually on the board sections). The funny thing is, it doesn't just happen on the custom boards, but I was playing a normal game on Pirate Land in Mario Party 2 and it froze after a few turns as well.

I'm guessing for whatever reason the N64 or Everdrive just has issues running the altered ROM file?

Oddly enough, the games run just fine on N64 emulators (specifically Not64).
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Maxtant on April 02, 2017, 03:02:32 PM
Hey Guys, I just experienced an issue, and I don't find any answer / help. I downloaded a custom map, provided by this site, and tryed it out on my own MP3. It works, but the screen is always flickering while the characters are moving. Can someone please help? ???

The standard rom does work pretty well, but not with the custom map inbound in it.

Greets :D
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: NintendoFan on April 02, 2017, 07:42:26 PM
Have you tried using a different video plugin in your emulator?
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Maxtant on April 03, 2017, 09:16:56 AM
Hi NintendoFan,
I came here tho edit my recent post as solved ^^
I just solved it by "luck".
Yes this was what i needed.
Thank you
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: nimadude on April 16, 2017, 01:18:24 PM
Hi there,

When I save my custom rom, it shifts all the spaces and paths down by like 10%, and the paths/spaces move off the screen.. how do I avoid this? The game still works, just party planner cuts off the bottom in the editor
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Rocky on April 27, 2017, 09:18:25 AM
That's a bug with the current version. For now you have to do it by trial and error by offsetting the spaces to get the look you want.

https://github.com/PartyPlanner64/PartyPlanner64/issues/20
Title: Re: Bug/Error Reports
Post by: Treasure Trawlers on July 08, 2017, 09:44:45 PM
I actually jumped on to post about that myself. I've basically given up on making a custom map in the time being until it's fixed.